Hidden things in QBO Accountant

more hidden things

Continuing with my favorite topic, more hidden things...this time in the QuickBooks (QBO) Accountant's version.  Including "where did the select all box go" in the Reclassify Transactions function?  Just like this kitty is peeking around the corner, lets investigate a new list of more hidden things.  

Some day, I'll have to photograph my mascot here at Artesani Bookkeeping.  We call him "The Lion King", aka Simba, my orange tabby cat.  I'll have him model and use his picture in future blog posts. He is the type of cat that never "hides".  The lion is always the first cat to greet you or anyone new at the door.  My husband says he is our cat-dog.  Definitely the alpha male of our group of three cats....

Okay, on with the post.   ðŸ™‚    

Hidden Things:  #1  Missing Select all box

The disappearing and re-appearing box.  This one drove me crazy.   Sometimes it was there, sometimes it was missing.  One day I saw a Facebook post that said if there are over 100 transactions in the reclassify tool, you will lose that small box that allows you to select all and move transactions to another account.  There are a few work-arounds mentioned in the video, if you have a list of over 100 transactions.

More Hidden Things:  #2  Report tools-setting a default date range

This is so handy in my practice.  I have bookkeeping agreements with my customers.  Depending on the volume of transactions, some customers we work on a  monthly basis and some that have fewer transactions, we service quarterly.  With this feature, I can preset my date range on the reports globally so I don't have to remember.  It is a tool under report settings in the Accountant's toolbox and it is one of my favorites.

More Hidden Things:  #3  Undoing a bank reconciliation

That undo button is a bit hidden and you have to know where to look for it.  I have mentioned this in past blog posts but it is worth revisiting.  Click to reconcile an account.  See the past bank reconciliation history and click the drop down to access "undo".   See the video (near the end) for a quick demo of this feature.

Last piece of advice: So why are these hidden?

Not sure why the developers would somewhat hide things in the program.  It is one of the questions I see over an over in the community forum.   "How do I undo a customer that I deleted?"  Well, if you don't know where the small gray gear is on your customer page,  you probably don't notice the drop down.  This is where you will find  "show all" customers or "show inactive".   It is not demonstrated in this video, but it is definitely a feature that should be more predominant on the screen.

If you have any questions or would like to see a future video on another topic, please reach out to me on Facebook.

Lynda Artesani

Lynda Artesani is the president of Artesani Bookkeeping where she uses her expertise and organizational skills to help her clients thrive and become profitable. Lynda is a member of the Intuit Trainer Writer Network. She is an alumni member of the Intuit Advisory Board. Additionally, she is the first Expert Columnist for the QB Community forum. She is also a co-founder in a Facebook group called QB Community Live!