Payroll Email settings QBO
Payroll email settings. Do you know where they are in QuickBooks Online (QBO)? For certain, they are not where you would think they would be. Logically, they should be listed in the payroll module accessed by clicking employees on the left toolbar. This is why I have listed this item under my favorite topic, more hidden things. I know I mentioned I would use a pic of my mascot, Simba in the next hidden things blog post, but he is The King of the Jungle and never hides. He is always out there.
Warning: The video below does include a bit of a rant from me. 🙂
Payroll email: So where are these settings?
You will find them under gear>payroll settings>email settings
When I delete an accountant user, this payroll email setting is removed right?
One would think so, but unfortunately, the answer is NO. You must also take the steps to remove the user from the payroll settings to. So, does this mean that user you removed will still have access to your file? It doesn't appear so. At least in my experience. But somehow their email is still attached. I know Intuit works diligently to keep these files secure. But when I remove a user, I want them fully removed. I have had it happen where a client will forget this step. I always ask them to please remove me here as well. It will stop the email chain of Payroll is due emails. If you are using Enhanced payroll, it will stop the emails to this person that state tax returns are due.
If the client will not/does not remove you from here, how do you stop these annoying emails?
Contact Intuit payroll support. But this takes time and time is money. Also, for some of my past/potential clients, not all were removed here despite the payroll support team telling me so. I had to remove about 3 clients from this and only two of them were removed. I still have one hanging. If you are like me, I get enough emails and really need to focus on my current clientele. I do not need to be receiving emails on past or potential clients. Intuit, if you are listening, please remove this email when the accountant user is removed. You added me in when I requested access, so the ability is there. Make them removed automatically when a user that has access to payroll is removed.
Still waiting for technical support for my client...
The client that I mention in the video sent me an email. He found while he was perusing the audit log that an "accountant user" who no longer had access to the file had re-established connection in the file. She even added herself as a user at 11:20pm. The tech team is looking into how this happened and why. Did this person actually add manually add themselves back in or did the program do an update and resurrect old settings from January? It is just a very bizarre situation and does not make me or my client happy that someone had access to their file that they did not invite.
I would love to hear from you if you have a security concern or something that actually caused you to pause while using QuickBooks Online. Please click the Facebook link below and message me. I may feature you in a future post.
If you have any questions or would like to see a future video on another topic, please reach out to me on Facebook.