Purge your Quickbooks Online File – Starting over
Sometimes the best way to clean a QuickBooks Online file is to start over, purge the file. How do you do just that? Here are the steps and you can watch the video to see how easy it is:
- Open your QBO file (Essentials and Plus version only)
- Make sure you are on the dashboard or home page (older version QBO)
- Change the url to include /purge company
- The next screen will give you a summary of what will be removed and what will remain. You must type Yes or No in the small box to purge or not purge.
If the industry you want to use is different than the one showing feel free to change and mark whether you would like the system to create accounts based on your industry or start with an empty chart of accounts. Once your selections are complete, click Wipe Data. When the deletion is complete you will be rerouted to your home page.
Note: If you have QuickBooks Online Payroll or Full Services Payroll this process may not work and we recommend following the steps above to cancel and start a new account. However it is possible to wipe the data in QuickBooks Online but the payroll data will not be affected and payroll system will not function.
Note: To purge Simple Start, you have to delete all transactions manually or sign up for a new account and close the old subscription.